Rebuild Project

General chat about the car goes in here.
kkemerait
Your car is a: 1978 124 Spider

Rebuild Project

Postby kkemerait » Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:24 pm

Hello all,

Ill advised or not, I've decided to strip down my 1978 Fiat Spider to the bare body and rebuild her from the ground up. I am not a mechanic and barely know where the gas goes in, but I figure this is an excellent opportunity for an old man, former software developer to learn a new skill, so ready or not here goes.

I would welcome any advice as I move along in this project, I'm sure I'll have many questions and need plenty of guidance. I'll be taking photos of the entire process and if there are any parts or sections that someone would like additional photos of please just ask I'll be happy to oblige.

Here are some photos pre-project of the car. (apparently you need to right-click and open in new tab)

https://goo.gl/photos/PQc41GnBFgyHbEgJ8

DRUMMOND
Patron 2018
Patron 2018
Your car is a: Fiat Spyder 2000 1980 Pininfarina

Re: Rebuild Project

Postby DRUMMOND » Sun Aug 06, 2017 11:11 pm

Hi Kemerait

You will have a lot of fun and some frustration. Find some new skills and lots of pride when it turns out right! Good Luck.
I am about 6 months away from finishing my resto from the bare chassis up if you get stuck or have any questions lots of people here will help.

ronarthur
Your car is a: 1977 Fiat Spider

Postby ronarthur » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:15 am

:shock: Take lots and lots of pictures! Tag/bag every thing that you can! It is amazing the memory loss in just a month's time.

aj81spider
Patron 2020
Patron 2020
Your car is a: 1974 Fiat 124 Spider

Postby aj81spider » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:54 am

+1 on the pictures. However many you take you should take more. I must have taken 500 pictures disassembling my car and when I was reassembling it there were many many many times when I wished I had another picture from a different angle or of a piece I didn't capture in one of the pictures I took.