New project - 1976 Spider

This is the place to discuss restoration problems, post questions or projects-complete or partial.
TXWarthog
Your car is a: 1976 124 Spider

New project - 1976 Spider

Postby TXWarthog » Mon Jul 25, 2016 12:42 am

Just picked up a '76 Fiat Spider last weekend. I'm not sure if I want to tackle the frame/body part first, or get it running and then tackle the other part later. I'm mechanically inclined, with almost two decades experience on motorcycles (lots of restorations), cars, trucks, and aircraft (specifically the A-10). I've found rust on the rear valence (panel below the tail lights), both inner rocker panels, lots of bondo hiding rust in both rear outer wheel wells/fenders and the passenger door skin (near lower rear corner). So far, frame, floor pans, shock mounts and other areas appear to have easily treatable surface corrosion. I have very little experience welding, so I'm practicing with a flux core wire welder(cheap Harbor Freight I picked up used) on scrap pieces of sheet metal. I see a PO has used 2x4, liquid nails, and wood screws to "shore up" the right inner rocker panel by gluing and nailing a 2x4 behind the panel. That does not give me warm fuzzy feelings!

The bumpers and the bumper shocks are crap, but those will go bye-bye soon enough. Either going for no-bumper, or split rear with the arbarth pads up front. Either way is much cheaper than trying to replace the stock bumpers.

Car was originally white, may bring it back to factory white or white with metal flake and/or pearl. I think a tan interior/top would be nice over the black. Also thinking about 15" wheels as 13" tires seem to be hard to find.

Wiring is going to be a serious issue as the PO did lots of fiddling. I see a lot of wire nuts used for 120v systems. I'm tempted to rip it all out and start fresh with a custom kit from Painless. But my better judgement might prevail and get me to fix each part as I find it.